GoldenBoomers International

CHANGING THE PERCEPTION OF SENIOR LIVING

A Tiny Woman Conveys A Big Message About Fitness

I just get a kick out of what some seniors are doing.  These could be our mothers and fathers, and they are really showing us how to “retire” with grace and courage…sprinkled with a lot of good old fashioned work!

I ride a bike to work every day.  The trip into work is 9.6 km (6 miles) and it takes me 35 minutes to ride door to door on fairly level ground.

One morning, along comes 92 year old Houston resident, Carol Collins, who does the bicycle 10K in 38:08. In other words, she does a bit more than I do in just a tad bit more time. Suddenly, I feel embarrassed! I think I need to get on the ball and start practicing more.

We need to encourage our parents to exercise.  According to the Centers for Disease Control, “Only about 20 percent of all adults currently obtain enough physical activity to reap substantial health rewards.”

If adults aged 65 and older need muscle-strengthening activities two or more days a week, plus some added aerobic exercises to be in tip-top shape, where are they getting it?  What can we do to ensure that our parents are getting such a benefit?  For that matter, what can we do to make sure we get such a benefit?

As for me, I think I will hide my face and start working out on the bike.  If Carol passes me, I will let her know that I just got out of surgery—to get my ego trimmed!

More here:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 12, 2015 by .
